Tags

We’ve recently added more new books to our Popular Reading section. Mostly novels but there are a couple of memoirs and one book of connected short stories. I know I want to add most of these to my “To Be Read” list that keeps growing, and growing, and growing…

             Posted by Julie – one of your Kirkwood Librarians!

Click the title for a catalog link for more information and to see if the book is currently available for checkout.

The Whispering House: A Novel by Elizabeth Brooks, Call Number: Popular Books BRO Freya Lyell is struggling to move whispering houseon from her sister Stella’s suicide five years ago. Visiting the bewitching Byrne Hall, only a few miles from the scene of the tragedy, she discovers a portrait of Stella – a portrait she had no idea existed, in a house Stella never set foot in. Or so she thought.

Of Women and Salt: A Novel by Gabriela Garcia, Call Number: Popular Books GAR A daughter’s fateful choice, a mother motivated by her own past, and a family legacy that begins in Cuba before either of them were born

Libertie: A Novel by Kaitlyn Greenidge, Call Number: Popular Books GRE Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that herLibertie purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother’s choices and is hungry for something else. Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge’s new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi. 

Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir by Nikki Grimes, Call Number: Popular Books GRI In her own voice, author and poet Nikki Grimes explores the truth of a harrowing childhood in a memoir in verse. Growing up with a mother suffering from paranoid schizophrenia and a mostly absent father, Nikki Grimes found herself terrorized by babysitters, shunted from foster family to foster family, and preyed upon by those she trusted. At the age of six, she poured her pain onto a piece of paper late one night—and discovered the magic and impact of writing.

Klara and the Sun: A Novel by Kazuo Ishiguro, Call Number: Popular Books ISH Klara and the Sun tells the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, from her place in the store, watches carefully the behavior of those who come in to browse, and of those who pass on the street outside. She remains hopeful that a customer will soon choose her. The book offers a look at our changing world through the eyes of an unforgettable narrator, and one that explores the fundamental question: What does it mean to love? Outlawed

Outlawed: A Novel by Anna North, Call Number: Popular Books NOR The Crucible meets True Grit in this riveting adventure story of a fugitive girl, a mysterious gang of robbers, and their dangerous mission to transform the Wild West.

Gold Diggers: A Novel by Sanjena Sathian, Call Number: Popular Books SAT An Indian-American magical realist coming of age story, spanning two continents, two coasts, and four epochs, in razor sharp and deeply funny prose, Sathian captures what it is to grow up as a member of a family, of a diaspora, and of the American meritocracy.

Inheritors by Asako Serizawa, Call Number: Popular Books SER Connected Short Stories Spanning more than 150 years, and set in multiple locations in colonial and postcolonial Asia and the United States, Inheritors paints a kaleidoscopic portrait of its characters as they grapple with the legacies of loss, imperialism, and war.

laura deanLaura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki & Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, Call Number: Popular Books TAM The day they got together was the best one of Freddy’s life, but nothing’s made sense since. Laura Dean is popular, funny, and SO CUTE … but she can be really thoughtless, even mean. Their on-again, off-again relationship has Freddy’s head spinning — and Freddy’s friends can’t understand why she keeps going back.

The Performance: A Novel by Claire Thomas, Call Number: Popular Books THO One night, three women go to the theater to see a play. Wildfires are burning in the hills outside, but inside the theater it is time for the performance to take over. While the performance unfolds on stage, so does the compelling trajectory that will bring these three women together, changing them all. Deliciously intimate and yet emotionally wide-ranging, The Performance is a novel that both explores the inner lives of women as it underscores the power of art and memory to transform us. crying in h mart

Crying in H Mart: A Memoir by Michelle Zauner, Call Number: Popular Books ZAU In this story of family, food, grief, and endurance, Michelle Zauner proves herself far more than a singer, songwriter, and guitarist. With humor and heart, she tells of growing up the only Asian American kid at her school in Eugene, Oregon; of struggling with her mother’s particular, high expectations of her; of a painful adolescence; of treasured months spent in her grandmother’s tiny apartment in Seoul, where she and her mother would bond, late at night, over heaping plates of food.