Tags

, , ,

It what has become an annual holiday tradition, we offer once again a list of suggestions of what to read over break this year from Kirkwood Library Services. Find lists from previous years, 2013 and 2014 from these links.

I also must say for the first time ever we’ve had multiple people recommend the same book. No less than 3 different staff recommended The Martian. Check it out today.

Some books have a copy at both Iowa City and Cedar Rapids, others are only at one or the other. A few we don’t own copies of, but you should be able to find them at a local public library. Check with a librarian if you have questions and remember you can get most Kirkwood library books delivered to you at any of the centers.

Between semesters is a golden time to do what you don’t have time for during the regular semester, read something that YOU pick! Stumped over what that should be? Check out our selections below.

“This year I finally got around to reading one of those classics that I always meant to read sometime Abraham Lincoln : The Prairie Years And The War Years by Carl Sandburg (CR 973.7 L736s) and I’m glad I did. Not only was it a long, in-depth story of Lincoln both before he was President and during, but I also thought it was a fair reflection of the Lincoln marriage and Mary who I think often gets slighted. I thought it was especially interesting to realize just how wrapped up he was not only in Illinois, but all over the Midwest, especially the many Iowa connections. Also, I really hadn’t realized how much he’d traveled over the US. It gave me a lot to think about.

On a lighter note, since we’ve got a trip coming up, I’ve been enjoying PassPorter’s Walt Disney World 2015: The Unique Travel Guide, Planner, Organizer, Journal, and Keepsake! by Jennifer Marx and Dave Marx. I read several different books for the trip & this tied for 1st place with the official guide for the best of them.”
– Sarah S. Uthoff, Reference

“Read The Martian by Andy Weir (IC & CR PB 813.6 W425m). Best hard sci fi I have read in last couple decades.  Reading The 33 : Deep Down Dark : The Untold Stories Of 33 Men Buried In A Chilean Mine, And The Miracle That Set Them Free by Hector Tobar (CR 363.11 T628t) right now, not fiction but just as good.
– Steve Sickels, Reference

“You should read The Martian by Andy Weir. It’s a compelling read—although it is fiction I felt like it really could happen.”
– Barbara Oldenburg, Circulation

The Martian by Andy Weir. I read the book earlier in the year and then recommended it to my reading group.  I wasn’t sure they would all like it but everyone loved it!  They still talk about it months later.  It was a great survival story that included humor, suspense, science, and perseverance! It came out as a movie starring Matt Damon a few months ago. I haven’t seen it yet but I will be seeing it soon!” -Julie Petersen, Reference

I would like to recommend the book Night by Elie Wiesel (for the trilogy – CR ELA 843.914 W651n). This is not typical Christmas fare, but most definitely relevant right now when there seems to be so much intolerance and fear spreading across the United States. It is a fast read, but gut wrenching. If the reader wants more, they can finish the trilogy by reading Dawn and Day.
– Sue Miller, Reference

This year I enjoyed reading Still Alice by Lisa Genova. It was poignant to read about Alzheimer’s from the point of view of the person to whom it is happening.”
– Glenda S Davis-Driggs, Reference

“I recommend In Dreams Begin Responsibilities and Other Stories by Delmore Schwartz. It’s the definitive book on the depression-era immigrant experience in New York City.”
Ryan Strempke-Durgin, Reference

