“A child must feel the flush of victory and the heart-sinking of disappointment before he takes with a will to the tasks distasteful to him and resolves to dance his way through a dull routine of textbooks.” – Helen KellerStuding with Technology

Greetings from the library floor! The days are getting crisp as Fall apples and our students are keeping the libraries crackling with learning energy. I was delighted to see this student studying today – with book, phone, laptop, and tablet open. It reminded me of the fact that learning today need not (always) involve a dull routine of textbooks, but that the opportunities to connect and learn are truly rich and growing all the time.

As Connected Educator Month winds down and Information Literacy Awareness Month spins up, I’m reminded of the importance of the Personal Learning Network. Be it your classmates in a class (F2F or virtual), your colleagues at work (F2F or virtual), your family (F2F or virtual), your friends (you know what these parenthesis will say by now), your former classmates…there is an extremely powerful network effect when we view each other as learners, when we share our learning, and when we open ourselves to learning from others.

So how’s your personal learning network? I know I feel I’ve been neglecting mine, so I’m happy to report  I recently convened a Tablet Users Group here at Kirkwood with my colleagues Bonnie and Phil. Our initial group was 23 Kirkwood faculty and staff, and it was fantastic – a couple tech-curious types, a few IT professionals, several iPad owners, and a light sprinkling of Androids.  Your Kirkwood librarians have also started a learning circle around Char Booth’s “Reflective Teaching, Effective Learning: Instructional Literacy for Library Educators.” I’m pretty excited today to be part of these groups and feel that ‘flush of victory.’  A hearty thank you to those of you who make up my daily PLN – Colin, Chuck, Alan, DJ, Jen, Kate, Steve, Gary, Arron, Ryan, Sarah, Kathy, Justin, Matt, Dorothea, Meg, and those in the Twittersphere, in the RSS feeds, and on the ol’ Facebook. This librarian thanks you!

I hope your Fall is ripening as nicely as mine is.
Warm regards,
Nicole

